Thursday, December 21, 2006

BREAKING NEWS: Book 7 Title Revealed - "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows"

Here it is - another wonderful Christmas present from JK Rowling. The seventh - and final - book in the Harry Potter series is "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows."

I haven't read any commentary yet on the new book title - but my guess is that it alludes to Godric's Hallow, the place where Harry's parents were killed defending him against the dreaded Lord Voldemort, the place where Harry got his scar, the place where Voldemort was the first time, the place where Harry said he was going to back at the end of Half-Blood Prince (Book Five), and the place that I think will be the finale of the final showdown between Harry Potter and Lord Voldemort. What caused the explosion at Godric's Hallow the first time on the night of October 31, 1981? I think we'll find out - and I think we may see the use of the "Time Turner" again.

There you go - BB's first thoughts at this most wonderful Christmas present - and just in the "nick" of time. Now we watch for the release date (which could be this summer) and the cover art for the book.

To discover the name of the book yourself, click on the headline above which will take you to Jo Rowling's website, click on the eraser on her desk, and then follow these steps:

1. Click the knob on the open door in the mirror to see the Christmas tree.
2. Click on the top half of the main door to see a wreath.
3. Click on the top of the mirror to reveal garland.
4. They will all go away if you click the spider web next to the mirror.
5. Click on the fourth chime in the window and the key for the door.
6. Drag the key to the door knob to unlock the door.
7. The door opens to reveal a package.
8. When you click the bow, the package will open.
9. Inside is a game of Hangman you can play to guess the title of Book 7!

A little trivia note about Book 7: In September 2006, Rowling was nearly barred by US Transportation Security Administration officials from carrying a working manuscript for the seventh Harry Potter novel onto an airplane, due to security restrictions, but eventually she prevailed.[3] She said at the time she would rather have sailed home to England in a boat than be separated from the manuscript.

9 comments:

Anonymous said...

Awesome - I look forward to another late night with Rita Skeeter!
MEG

Mdlawlib said...

BB - As always you are so insightful when it comes to things Harry Potter and pretty much everything else! Part of me can't wait for the book, but there is a part of me that does not want it to end. The world will seem so bleek with out the anticipation of when the next book will be published.
But, alas, I guess all good things must end . . . .

Václav Patrik Šulik said...

thanks -- the weird thing was I hadn't been by her website in ages. I just started clicking on things and one thing lead to another. The hangman game was (thankfully) pretty easy.

I'll send your directions to the Potter readers in my family.

Merry Christmas!

Václav Patrik Šulik said...

Also, having been an "audio" reader primarily, I always thought it was "Godric's Hollow." Maybe this is a play on words?

I'm intrigued that it is Hallow -- as in all hallow's eve -- All Saint's eve.

The Deathly Saints?

or maybe the redemption though death?

Who knows...

BabyBlue said...

I am part of an online discussion group moderated by the author John Granger who wrote "Finding God in Harry Potter" and other books that make the case that Jo Rowling is writing in the tradition of CS Lewis and JRR Tolkien (a modern-day Inkling). The fact that it's spelled "Hallow" rather than "Hollow" is interesting. Godric of course sounds like Godric Gryffindor, one of the original founders of Hogwarts. It is the place where the Potters, both in the Gryffindor House at Hogwarts, died trying to save Harry (who is also in Gryffindor - and it's that a bit like the lion Aslan, a favorite book of Jo Rowling's by the way). But now we have this new thing - this "Deathly Hallows" - is that a place or a time? We know that the next day is All Saints Day.

It's just such a Christmas Present to speculate on something new - and something fun. It's also fun to discover that some of us are Potter fans. We know something about the "very old magic." ;-)

bb

Mdlawlib said...

bb can you remind us of what we else we know about Godric Gryffindor? I believe at one point Professor Dumbeldore tell's Harry that he is "a true Gryffindor." I have always wondered if that meant that he had the true charteristics of a member of Gryffindor or if he really was a Gryffindor. I also seem to remember that Gryffindor got into a fight with Slytherian which cause Slytherian to leave the school.

It does make sense that it will all end where it started, at Godric's Hallow. Everything will come full circle . . . .

Chip said...

I'll predict right now that it WON'T be out next summer.

BabyBlue said...

We actually don't even know where Godric's Hollow is - we know it took over a day for Hagrid to get baby Harry from James and Lily's house to Aunt Petunia's house, so it's possible that Godric's Hollow is in Scotland. Since the book is really about a school - the final battle could be at Hogwarts. The school had tremendous meaning to the "founders" which included Godric Gryffindor. We know that Salazar Slytherin had a big-time falling out with the other founders (particularly Gryffindor) and stomped off into the sunset, taking his "purity of the wizarding race" ideas with him. But we also know he left some things behind, most notally the Basalisk and the myriad tunnel system underneath Hogwarts (which I think also will figure into the final book).

We know that Gryffindor had a sword which comes to Harry's aid in Book II. But we don't know Harry's personal relationship to Gryffindor since we still - after six books - have NO IDEA who Harry is related to outside of Petunia and Dudley.

It looks like a lot of folks are predicting that Jo Rowling's Christmas present next year will be Book VII. This would make totaly sense for a lot of reasons, only one being that the Order of Phoenix (which vistors to BabyBlueOnline will all ready know due to the countdown clock on the site)film will be out next summer.

So the next big release will be the Cover Art for the book - and that will be a while in coming.

The Deadly Hallows - with Hallows spelled like Halloween. All Hallows Eve. All Saints Eve. Hallowed means "to make holy" or "consecrated" or "set apart for holy use." "Sacred."

Well, it does sound like she's following in the Inkling's footsteps.

bb

mdlawlib said...

Given all the unanswered questions, how long is this book going to be???? : )

BB as always thanks for your insight. And if any other thoughts hit you please post! I know that this site has been so busy with some very painful issues, but given the spirit of the season it sure is nice for JK Rowling to give us such a great present!